Cloudways Affiliate Program

Active

Managed cloud hosting with three commission models: Slab up to $125 per sale, Hybrid $30 plus 7% lifetime, or Custom, on a 90-day cookie.

Verified Official source · checked 15 days ago

Quick answer

Yes. Cloudways runs an in-house affiliate program with three commission models: Slab, paying up to $125 per sale by monthly volume; Hybrid, paying $30 per sale plus 7% lifetime commission; and a Custom mix arranged with your Affiliate Manager. The cookie lasts 90 days, and PayPal payouts go out in the last week of the month once approved commission reaches $250.

At a glance

SaaS Affiliate Score

7.4Strong
  • Commission5.0
  • Recurring potential10.0
  • Cookie duration7.5
  • Payout terms7.0
  • Promotional flexibility6.0
  • Program stability8.0
  • Market opportunity7.5

An editorial, data-based rating — not an objective measure, and never influenced by sponsorship. See the method.

Commission
7%
Recurring
Lifetime
Cookie window
90 days
Minimum payout
$250
Network
In-house

About Cloudways

Cloudways sells managed cloud hosting for WordPress and other applications. Its in-house affiliate program lets you choose how you are paid. The Slab model pays up to $125 per sale, rising with the number of customers you refer in a month. The Hybrid model pays $30 per sale plus 7% lifetime commission. A Custom model that combines the two is arranged through your Affiliate Manager. A sale is approved only after the referred customer upgrades from trial, adds billing details and pays at least two invoices; a trial that never upgrades earns nothing. Slab positions reset on the 1st of every month, and switching models takes effect from the start of the following month. Cloudways’ terms page now links its Affiliate Program Policy to the DigitalOcean Affiliate Program Agreement, so that document’s rules apply alongside the program page.

Web Hostingcloud hostingmanaged hostinglifetime recurringhybridin house

Listed in: Best recurring affiliate programs for SaaS · Lifetime recurring affiliate programs · High ticket SaaS affiliate programs

Commission details

Slab model: up to $125 per sale by volume tier. Hybrid model: $30 per sale plus 7% lifetime recurring. Custom model on request. Two-tier: 7% of the commission earned by affiliates you recruit.

Commission type
Hybrid
Recurring
Yes — for the lifetime of the referred account
Commission currency
USD

Payouts and tracking

Payout frequency
Monthly
Payment methods
PayPal, Wire transfer (accounts earning $1,000+ approved commission per payout cycle), Funds transfer to Cloudways hosting balance ($100 minimum)
Payout currency
USD

Attribution window. Cloudways states the cookie is stored for 90 days. Commission is approved only once the referred customer has paid at least two invoices, and the comparison table on the program page gives a 60-day approval period.

Promotional rules

What Cloudways allows and forbids before you promote it.

Paid search (PPC)Allowed
Brand-term biddingNot allowed
Coupon promotionNot publicly disclosed
Email promotionNot publicly disclosed
Deep linkingNot publicly disclosed
Self-referralNot allowed
  • PPC is allowed, but 'Cloudways' must be on your negative keyword list and brand terms and misspellings may not be bid on; trademark-bidding exceptions have to be cleared with the affiliate team first.
  • Direct linking to the Cloudways website, or using it as a display URL, is not allowed in paid ads without prior approval.
  • The DigitalOcean agreement linked from Cloudways’ terms page bans buying through your own link, cookie stuffing, pop-ups, URL masking and ads that compete for DigitalOcean’s branded keywords.
  • The same agreement requires email and SMS promotion to honour opt-out requests.
  • A trial that never upgrades to a paid account earns no commission.

Requirements

The help centre says the affiliate form is sent for review and a verdict takes 24 hours, or the next working day for weekend and holiday submissions. The program page’s “No long forms. No approval delays.” copy sits alongside that, so expect a short review rather than instant access. Direct linking from paid ads needs its own prior approval.

  • A Cloudways account, from which the affiliate panel opens via the side menu
  • An approved affiliate form, reviewed within 24 hours on working days
  • Prior approval before direct-linking to Cloudways or using it as a display URL in paid ads

Who this is best for

Good fit

  • Agencies and developers whose clients stay on hosting for years, where the Hybrid 7% lifetime share keeps paying
  • Affiliates who can refer many customers inside one calendar month, since Slab position resets on the 1st
  • Existing Cloudways customers, who can take earnings as hosting balance from $100 instead of waiting for the $250 PayPal threshold

Poor fit

  • Affiliates earning under $250 in approved commission a month, who get no PayPal payout until they cross it
  • Paid-search affiliates who need brand keywords, which require an exception from the affiliate team
  • Traffic that starts trials but rarely upgrades, because unpaid trials earn nothing

Pros and limitations

Pros

  • You pick Slab, Hybrid or Custom and can switch later; a new model applies from the following month
  • Hybrid pays 7% for as long as the referred customer stays, on top of $30 upfront
  • Two-tier override: 7% of the per-sale commission earned by affiliates you recruit
  • Earnings can be moved to your Cloudways hosting balance from $100 approved commission

Limitations

  • PayPal payouts need $250 approved commission; wire transfer only opens at $1,000 or more per payout cycle
  • A sale is approved only after two paid invoices, and the comparison table lists a 60-day approval period
  • Slab position resets on the 1st of every month, so referral volume never carries over
  • The Slab model pays per sale only, with no lifetime share of the customer’s spend

How to join

  1. 1Sign up for a Cloudways account and open Affiliate from the platform’s side menu
  2. 2Submit the affiliate form and wait for the review, which the help centre puts at 24 hours
  3. 3Pick Slab or Hybrid in the Commission Structure menu of your affiliate profile, or ask your Affiliate Manager about Custom
  4. 4Request approval before direct-linking from paid ads

Estimate earnings from this program

Month 1 commission—
Estimated year 1 commission—
Run-rate at month 12—
Lifetime value per referral—
How this estimate works

Commission rate and recurring months are prefilled from Cloudways's published terms. Plan value, referrals and retention are placeholders: set them to match the audience you would actually send.

These are estimates, not guaranteed earnings for Cloudways. They assume a constant referral rate and a flat monthly retention rate, and they exclude refunds, clawbacks, approval rates and payout thresholds. Real results vary widely.

Open the full earnings calculator

Cloudways vs the Web Hosting median

TermCloudwaysCategory medianPrograms
Commission rate7%22.5%4
Recurring termLifetimeOne-time5
Cookie window90 days60 days6
Minimum payout$250$505

Medians across published Web Hosting programs that disclose each term. Undisclosed terms are left out, not counted as zero.

Program change history

Recorded changes to this program's terms. Older values are kept so you can see the direction of travel.

  1. commissionText Slab model: up to $125 per sale by volume tier. Hybrid model: $30 per sale plus 7% lifetime recurring. Sub-affiliates earn an additional 7%.Slab model: up to $125 per sale by volume tier. Hybrid model: $30 per sale plus 7% lifetime recurring. Custom model on request. Two-tier: 7% of the commission earned by affiliates you recruit.

    Observed on recheck. The vendor did not publish the date of the change, so this is the date we saw it.

    Source
  2. payoutMethods PayPal; Wire transfer (accounts earning $1,000+ monthly)PayPal; Wire transfer (accounts earning $1,000+ approved commission per payout cycle); Funds transfer to Cloudways hosting balance ($100 minimum)

    Observed on recheck. The vendor did not publish the date of the change, so this is the date we saw it.

    Source

Editor's notes

Cloudways publishes its paid-search rules on the public program page: "Cloudways" must go on your negative keyword list, brand terms and misspellings may not be bid on, and trademark-bidding exceptions, direct linking and use of Cloudways as a display URL all need prior clearance from the affiliate team. Its terms page links its Affiliate Program Policy to the DigitalOcean Affiliate Program Agreement, which bans buying through your own link, cookie stuffing and URL masking.

Sources and verification

Frequently asked questions

Which Cloudways commission model should I choose?

Slab pays up to $125 per sale depending on how many customers you refer that month, with no ongoing share. Hybrid pays $30 per sale plus 7% lifetime commission, so it pays more the longer referrals stay. A change applies from the start of the following month, and Custom is arranged with your Affiliate Manager.

What is the Cloudways payout threshold?

It is $250 in approved commission for PayPal, paid in the last week of the month. Wire transfer needs $1,000 or more in approved commission per payout cycle, and moving earnings to your Cloudways hosting balance needs $100.

Can I run Google Ads for Cloudways?

Yes, with limits. You must add 'Cloudways' as a negative keyword and avoid brand terms and misspellings, and direct linking or using Cloudways as a display URL needs prior approval. The affiliate team handles trademark-bidding exceptions.

How does the Cloudways two-tier program work?

Refer other affiliates through your link and you earn 7% of the per-sale commission they make. The help centre calls this a passive override, and its two-tier calculator assumes your recruits are on the Slab model.

Alternatives to Cloudways

Open programs in the same category. Each row shows the one published term that differs most in the affiliate's favour.