AWeber Affiliate Program
ActiveEmail platform paying 30–50% of referred accounts' payments for their lifetime, with a 90-day cookie and PayPal payouts.
Quick answer
Yes. AWeber pays 30%, 40% or 50% of each referred paid account's payments for the lifetime of that account, with the tier set by new paid accounts you referred over a trailing 12 months. AWeber's Advocate docs state a 90-day cookie, and payments go out monthly by PayPal once they pass $30 (US) or $50 (outside the US).
At a glance
SaaS Affiliate Score
An editorial, data-based rating — not an objective measure, and never influenced by sponsorship. See the method.
- Commission
- 50%
- Recurring
- Lifetime
- Cookie window
- 90 days
- Minimum payout
- $30
- Network
- Not publicly disclosed
About AWeber
AWeber sells email marketing software and runs its affiliate scheme itself as the AWeber Advocate (Customer Referral) Program, managed through its own Customer Referral Control Panel. Commission is tiered on volume: 30% for 0–99 new paid accounts in a trailing 12 months, 40% for 100–499 and 50% for 500 or more, paid monthly for as long as each referred account stays paid. Someone who opens a Free plan earns you nothing until they upgrade; the rate applied then depends on your previous 12 months of referrals. The Advocate Agreement, effective 27 October 2025, sets the promotion rules summarised below.
Listed in: Best recurring affiliate programs for SaaS · Lifetime recurring affiliate programs · Highest paying SaaS affiliate programs
Commission details
30% for 0–99 new paid accounts referred in a trailing 12 months, 40% for 100–499, 50% for 500+. Paid monthly for the lifetime of each paid account.
- Commission type
- Tiered
- Recurring
- Yes — for the lifetime of the referred account
- Commission currency
- USD
Payouts and tracking
- Payout frequency
- Monthly
- Payment methods
- PayPal
- Payout currency
- USD
Attribution window. AWeber's Advocate docs define the cookie duration as the 90-day period during which referrals are tracked after someone visits your referral link. Its help docs add that linking to a different aweber.com page keeps the tracking in place.
Promotional rules
What AWeber allows and forbids before you promote it.
- No bidding on AWeber brand terms or their variations in pay-per-click search, including trademark-plus terms such as 'AWeber discount' or 'AWeber promo code'; brand bidders are terminated.
- No incentives to users (cash, points, prizes, contest entries) unless AWeber approves them in writing.
- Domain names may not contain 'AWeber' or misspellings of it.
- Email promotion is allowed only to people who are already your customers or subscribers and can opt out; unsolicited email is banned.
- Self-referrals — using your link on your own AWeber account — are prohibited.
- Payments under $30 for US advocates, or $50 elsewhere, can be held until the balance reaches that amount.
- Payment disputes must be raised in writing within five business days of the latest payment date.
- Paid search on non-brand keywords and coupon promotion are not addressed in the agreement.
Requirements
AWeber reviews each application and says it may reject one at its sole discretion. You do not need to be an AWeber customer to join, though AWeber recommends it. Your tier is recalculated on a trailing 12-month count of new paid accounts, so the rate can fall as well as rise.
- An AWeber Advocate account, separate from any AWeber customer account
- A PayPal account — AWeber pays advocates only through PayPal, in US dollars
- One advocate account per company: AWeber does not allow rebrokering
Who this is best for
Good fit
- Publishers expecting fewer than 100 paid referrals a year, who still earn 30% for each account's lifetime
- Affiliates with long research cycles, since a visit is tracked for 90 days
- Email-list owners promoting to their own subscribers, which AWeber's agreement explicitly permits
Poor fit
- Affiliates whose traffic comes from bidding on AWeber brand terms — that is grounds for termination
- Small-volume partners outside the US, whose payments can be held until they reach $50
- Anyone who cannot receive PayPal, the only payout method
Pros and limitations
Pros
- Commission is paid for the life of each referred paid account, with no 12-month cut-off
- 30% applies from the first referral; 40% at 100 and 50% at 500 new paid accounts in a trailing year
- Deep links to any aweber.com page keep the 90-day tracking
- AWeber pays the PayPal fees on every advocate payment
Limitations
- 50% needs 500+ new paid accounts in a trailing 12 months, and the tier is recalculated as that window rolls
- PayPal is the only payout method and every payment is in US dollars
- On net-30 terms, a month's earnings arrive about 30 days after that month closes
- Free-plan signups earn nothing until the account upgrades to a paid AWeber plan
How to join
- 1Complete the online application on AWeber's Advocates page
- 2Wait for AWeber's review; it may reject applications at its discretion
- 3Log in to the Customer Referral Control Panel to find your referral link
- 4Add your PayPal address to the advocate account; changes apply from the next calendar month
Estimate earnings from this program
AWeber vs the Email Marketing median
| Term | AWeber | Category median | Programs |
|---|---|---|---|
| Commission rate | 50% | 45% | 8 |
| Recurring term | Lifetime | 12 mo | 10 |
| Cookie window | 90 days | 90 days | 9 |
| Minimum payout | $30 | $17.5 | 4 |
Medians across published Email Marketing programs that disclose each term. Undisclosed terms are left out, not counted as zero.
Program change history
Recorded changes to this program's terms. Older values are kept so you can see the direction of travel.
cookieDurationDays Not disclosed90 days
Newly documented rather than necessarily changed: AWeber's own documentation now states a 90-day attribution window, which its program page did not publish on 12 Aug.
SourcecookieDurationDays 365Not disclosed
We previously carried the most commonly reported figure. AWeber's own program page states no attribution window, so the value has been removed rather than left standing on third-party reporting.
Source
Editor's notes
AWeber's Advocate docs define the cookie as a 90-day tracking period, replacing the 365 days this record previously carried from third-party reporting. A referral who opens a Free plan earns nothing until they upgrade, and payments run on net-30 terms: AWeber totals each month's commissions and pays 30 days after the month closes.
Sources and verification
Frequently asked questions
What does the AWeber affiliate program pay?
30% of each referred paid account's payments if you referred 0–99 new paid accounts in the trailing 12 months, 40% for 100–499 and 50% for 500 or more. Payments continue for the lifetime of the account.
What is AWeber's affiliate cookie duration?
90 days. AWeber's Advocate documentation defines it as the period referrals are tracked after someone visits your link. Third-party sources checked in August 2026 gave 365 days; AWeber's own docs state 90.
When does AWeber pay advocates?
Monthly on net-30 terms: AWeber totals the month's referral payments and sends them by PayPal 30 days after the month closes. Balances under $30 for US advocates, or $50 elsewhere, can be held until they reach that level.
Do I need to be an AWeber customer to become an advocate?
No, but AWeber recommends it. You cannot use your own link on your own AWeber account; self-referrals are prohibited.
Alternatives to AWeber
Open programs in the same category. Each row shows the one published term that differs most in the affiliate's favour.