Coursera Affiliate Program

Active

Online course marketplace paying 15%–45% on eligible course, certificate and Coursera Plus purchases through Impact, with a 30-day click window.

Verified Official source · checked 5 days ago

Quick answer

Yes. Coursera pays affiliates a baseline 15% to 45% on eligible purchases made within 30 days of clicking their link, through the Impact network. Monthly subscriptions earn on the first month only, and degree and certificate purchases are excluded under the page's footnotes.

At a glance

SaaS Affiliate Score

5.7Fair
  • Commission8.7
  • Recurring potential2.0
  • Cookie duration5.0
  • Payout terms—
  • Promotional flexibility—
  • Program stability6.0
  • Market opportunity6.5

An editorial, data-based rating — not an objective measure, and never influenced by sponsorship. See the method.

Commission
15–45%
Recurring
One-time
Cookie window
30 days
Minimum payout
Not publicly disclosed
Network
Impact

About Coursera

Coursera sells online courses, Specializations, professional certificates and the Coursera Plus subscription; its affiliate page says there are 4,000+ courses and Specializations to promote. The program runs on Impact, and Coursera describes joining as fast, easy and free. The baseline commission is 15% to 45% on eligible purchases a visitor makes within 30 days of clicking a qualified link, with bonuses for strong performance. The page does not say which products sit at which end of that range. Commission is not recurring: on a monthly subscription, Coursera pays only on the first month's transaction. In return the rules are generous in other ways. A shopper who already has a Coursera account still counts, several purchases by one person each earn commission, and a buyer who clicks one course and buys another inside the window is still credited to you. When more than one affiliate referred the sale, the last qualified click wins. Affiliates get banners and text links, a weekly affiliate newsletter and a product merchandiser feed updated daily. Coursera does not publish a minimum payout, payout schedule or promotion rules on its affiliate page.

Creator Platformsonline coursese learningimpactone time

Listed in: New SaaS affiliate programs

Commission details

Baseline 15%–45% on eligible purchases within 30 days of a qualified click, with bonuses for strong performance; first month only on monthly subscriptions

Commission type
Tiered
Recurring
No — one-time payment per sale
Commission currency
USD

Payouts and tracking

Payout frequency
Not publicly disclosed
Payment methods
Not publicly disclosed
Payout currency
USD

Attribution window. Coursera credits eligible purchases made within 30 days of the initial click on a qualified link. Any eligible product bought in that window counts, not only the one you linked, and the last qualified click wins when several affiliates referred the buyer.

Promotional rules

What Coursera allows and forbids before you promote it.

Paid search (PPC)Not publicly disclosed
Brand-term biddingNot publicly disclosed
Coupon promotionNot publicly disclosed
Email promotionNot publicly disclosed
Deep linkingNot publicly disclosed
Self-referralNot publicly disclosed
  • Monthly subscriptions earn commission on the first month's transaction only.
  • A footnote excludes degree and certificate purchases, although the FAQ lists professional certificates among commissionable products; confirm which certificates qualify in the Impact contract.
  • Where several affiliates referred a sale, only the publisher with the last qualified click before purchase is credited.

Requirements

Coursera sends applicants to its campaign page on Impact and calls joining fast, easy and free. It does not say whether applications are reviewed, how long that takes, or whether there is any audience threshold.

  • An Impact account joined to Coursera's B2C affiliate campaign

Who this is best for

Good fit

  • Career and skills blogs that review individual courses and Specializations from Coursera's 4,000+ catalogue
  • Publishers whose readers already have Coursera accounts, since purchases by registered users still earn
  • Sites that build course lists from a product feed, using the daily-updated merchandiser field

Poor fit

  • Affiliates who want residual income: a Coursera Plus monthly subscriber pays you once, on the first month
  • Publishers focused on online degrees, which the footnotes exclude from commission

Pros and limitations

Pros

  • Baseline rate of 15% to 45%, with performance bonuses on top
  • Any eligible product bought within the 30-day window counts, even if it is not the course you linked
  • Existing Coursera users and repeat purchases by the same learner both earn commission
  • Daily-updated product merchandiser feed plus weekly affiliate newsletters

Limitations

  • No recurring commission; monthly subscriptions pay on the first month only
  • The page gives a 15%–45% range without saying which products earn which rate
  • Degree and certificate purchases are excluded by footnote, which clashes with the FAQ's mention of professional certificates
  • No minimum payout, payout schedule or paid-search rules published outside Impact

How to join

  1. 1Open coursera.org/about/affiliates and follow the Join link to Coursera's B2C campaign on Impact
  2. 2Create or sign in to an Impact partner account and apply to the campaign
  3. 3Once accepted, pick courses to promote and generate Impact tracking links or use Coursera's banners

Estimate earnings from this program

Month 1 commission—
Estimated year 1 commission—
Run-rate at month 12—
Lifetime value per referral—
How this estimate works

Commission rate and recurring months are prefilled from Coursera's published terms. Plan value, referrals and retention are placeholders: set them to match the audience you would actually send.

These are estimates, not guaranteed earnings for Coursera. They assume a constant referral rate and a flat monthly retention rate, and they exclude refunds, clawbacks, approval rates and payout thresholds. Real results vary widely.

Open the full earnings calculator

Coursera vs the Creator Platforms median

TermCourseraCategory medianPrograms
Commission rate45%30%7
Recurring termOne-time12 mo8
Cookie window30 days60 days5

Medians across published Creator Platforms programs that disclose each term. Undisclosed terms are left out, not counted as zero.

Sources and verification

  • Official
    Affiliate Program | Coursera

    Cites status, commission, recurring terms, cookie duration, network, requirements, restrictions · accessed

Frequently asked questions

Does Coursera pay recurring commission on Coursera Plus?

No. Coursera's affiliate FAQ says that when a user enrolls in a monthly subscription, it only pays commission on the first month's transaction.

How long is the Coursera affiliate cookie?

30 days. Eligible purchases made within 30 days of the initial click on a qualified link are credited, and the last qualified click wins if several affiliates referred the buyer.

Which Coursera products earn commission?

The FAQ lists courses, Specializations, professional certificates and Coursera Plus subscriptions. A footnote on the same page excludes degree and certificate purchases, so check the exact product list in the Impact campaign terms.

Which network runs the Coursera affiliate program?

Impact. Coursera's affiliate page links to its B2C campaign on Impact, and tracking is done with Impact links.

Alternatives to Coursera

Open programs in the same category. Each row shows the one published term that differs most in the affiliate's favour.